Dry January

And so it ends. I’ve learnt many things this month.

Firstly that I shouldn’t try and spread myself too thin and attempt to do too many things that I’m not actually that committed to doing. Generally, I couldn’t be bothered to exercise every day; not because it was too hard, just simply because I didn’t feel like it.

Secondly, that when I do really set my mind to something then I do always achieve it in the end ( even if it does take me many attempts and many years).

31 days without a drop of alcohol. I had moments of weakness and desire, but they were just moments until I had a cup of tea or lemongrass & ginger cordial. Any longings were mainly because of entrenched habits built up over many years, for example the association of a long committee day with a glass of wine to relax in the evening or of course being out with friends.

It was particularly helpful to break old habits by engrossing myself with other things I enjoy. In my case running and a new job.

Thirdly, I think I’ve learnt that I can change old habits as and when I want.

Looking forward to new challenges and wine in  moderation!

image

Running in the snow at Beachy Head.

Leave a Reply

